Minnesota winter

Last night while preparing for today’s lectures, I was sitting on the couch with my daughter sending stuff to my wireless printer when the furnace made an odd noise and shut off. I went to check what the problem was, but there didn’t appear to be one as there wasn’t a warning light blinking, and the flame was still on. So, I took my laptop upstairs and watched a parenteral nutrition lecture in bed with my daughter before going to sleep (totally cute by the way, she was paying attention and repeating some of the points!). Around midnight, I woke up to my husband telling me that the furnace was broken, and he was afraid the pipes were going to freeze. He told me that to get it fixed the next day would cost $500, but he could order a part on Amazon for $100. I told him to do the latter with expedited shipping, and he went to Walmart in the middle of the night to buy some space heaters in the mean time (best hubby ever!). So when I woke up this morning, the bedroom was around 65 degrees (still cold, but better than freezing), and there was a nice (fake) fire in the living room, but the rest of the house was frigid. I made some hot oatmeal, downed a cup of hot coffee, then started my car ten minutes before I had to leave. I knew it was going to be cold today, so my wool socks, extra leggings, triple wrapped scarf, fleece lined hat, and mittens were definitely a plus. I wasn’t, however, expecting to see -9 on my car thermometer when I finally drove to the Burnsville Transit Station. My furnace really picked a poor time to die.

2 Comments

Filed under Student Life

2 responses to “Minnesota winter

  1. Soar higher

    I lost power during a freak snow storm late
    October. I live in upstate NY and it was such a horrible experience having to sleep in frigid cold temps! At least you had space heaters! I too have a young child, a son who is 3 years old. I’d love to learn about how you balance family life and pharmacy school. I intend to apply to schools this fall for fall 2013 admission. Take care and thanking for sharing your experiences with us!

    • Ooh! I’m sorry, I just realized I hadn’t responded to you! Well, being a mom/wife/student and working at a pharmacy is quite a balancing act! It helps that I have family in the area who help me out more than you could imagine. Last semester I worked 5-9pm every Friday, and some weekends, but I’ve had to cut my hours back to a couple of weekends a month due to extended days on campus, and to keep my sanity in check. My husband works the nightshift at the place my mom works days, so he drops our daughter off with my mom when she is done with work, so that he can begin. After a couple of hours, when I’m done with class, I pick my daughter up from my mom’s place and take her home to make dinner. She used to be there late on Fridays last semester when I worked evenings. My brother also stays over every now and then to give my mom and step-dad a break. My dad is also happy to watch my daughter on the odd occasion.
      Since my husband works nights, we don’t see each other much during the week. I’m usually pretty distracted with school, but it’s difficult for him. I have considered taking out more loans to cover the cost of daycare so he can work a normal dayshift, and may have to do that eventually, but I feel like I’d be abandoning my daughter somewhere every day, rather than her just visiting Grandma’s house for an hour or two. I don’t want to take advantage of my family too much though; I guess I’ve got to balance my time AND my guilt. Oh, and sleep is at the bottom of my list of priorities; and that can take a toll on you. Pharmacy school is all about balance, prioritizing, and time management (and accepting the fact that sometimes only 10 of the 20 things on your list will get done that day).

Leave a Reply

